a real live grown up.

11 Nov

While driving my sister back to her house after her baby shower, the conversation turned to how old we’re getting. She’s been married for about 5 years or so, she’s got a house and is having her first baby early next year, I lived in England for two years and am now working on a phd.  Despite our being old people, neither of us feel like grown ups and we were wondering when or if that happens. I always assumed it would be when I get married or have kids, but if she doesn’t feel like a grown up, maybe it happens later, or maybe this is what being a grown up feels like. I’m not sure. I’ve never done this before.

8 Responses to “a real live grown up.”

  1. Cate November 11, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    I figure it happens when you actually have the kids and so can no longer be one yourself. I have two friends who are 35. One has a husband and two kids and the other is single. The first one is a total grown up and the other, not so much. So, Courtney will have to report when that happens.

  2. Cate November 11, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    However, the 35 year old mom was having a panic attack the other day about having to join the PTA, saying she wasn’t old enough. So never mind.

  3. Rose November 12, 2008 at 6:15 am #

    I feel like I’m 26 but I was born 31 years ago. So if, marriage, a house, two vans, a vespa, a cat, a dog and 4 kids hasn’t made me feel grown up, I don’t know what will!
    ~Rose

  4. Amanda Mae November 12, 2008 at 6:00 pm #

    I figure by the time I find out, it’ll all be almost over. And a good thing to keep in mind if I am ever a parent. I don’t know any more than my parents didn’t know, but I didn’t know that.

  5. Mrs. Moosepoot November 13, 2008 at 1:49 am #

    I still don’t feel grown up, so Cate must be wrong. My parents are still alive therefore I am still a child and they must be the grown ups.

  6. heatherroseschaffner November 13, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    I distinctly remembering a few years ago having a conversation with Courtney in the car as well. I think it was just before her wedding and her telling me “Heather, I think I’m a grown up now that I’m getting married.” That statement was funny at the time, but we also thought it would be true. I guess come to find out it wasn’t true at all…

  7. Ryan Schaffner November 15, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    So it’s not being married that makes you feel like a grown up, it’s not having kids, and it doesn’t happen as long as your parents are alive.

    So, sometime just before I die I might feel grownup.

    Sweet.

  8. Noah November 17, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    back pain. joint pain. fixing up my house. coaching high school sports. These are the only times I feel a little bit “adult”. I think you only feel like a grownup if you try to be purely adult, when you abandon your childish ideas or refuse to act on any of them anymore. I too have had this conversation with my wife. I thought it was your 2nd kid, but not for rose, and i hope not for me.

Leave a comment